Research – Independent Production

This is a summary of my research so far. The first reading that I looked into was one based around the benefits of crowdsourcing, as I plan to crowdsource most of my images. Surowiecki highlighted four key benefits of crowd sourcing that I felt were relevant to my project.

“1. Diversity: the crowd includes people with different backgrounds and perspectives.
2. Independence: each participant makes their decision, independent of the others.
3. Decentralization: the decisions are based on local and specific knowledge of the individuals, rather than of a central planner.
4. Aggregation: a function that turns individual judgements into a collective decision.”
(Surowiecki, 2004)

In relation to these 4 ‘Requirements’ further reading led me to the following quote, this explains that using more than one individual is produces a ‘Shared intelligence’ that is hard to come by when working alone.

“It is argued that the capability of a complex system, such as a crowd, is much better than a single system or individual, as it can produce a kind of shared or group intelligence, based on collaboration or competition of the many individuals in this group” (Kapetanios, 2008).

Rather than me searching through my collection of images crowdsourcing will give me a richer collection of images as some fans will know more about certain periods of Bristol City’s history, I may also stumble across somebody with images that will contribute vastly to my project. Crowdsourcing will be a major part of my project and I hope it will lead it to being successful in terms of quality and variety of image.

Looking into web art and interactivity was next on the agenda. This led me to visiting websites that I have previously linked in my blog. The first of which was The Johnny Cash Project, which allowed fans to share artwork of their beloved artist. Parallax scrolling became an area of interest for me which led me to looking at the website that promoted the film Life of Pi this was a brilliant example of parallax scrolling. I then looked at other sites, that were more relatable to the subject Instagate for example which is basically a brand which has spread itself across multiple platforms with out securing itself to one, this was a good example of how to communicate my brand and project across to potential users by using hashtags and other means of social networked communication. The interactive ‘cartographical’ map on James Turrell’s website was also something that has influenced the design of my site although it wasn’t the reason I decided to include a map on my site it changed my original plan encouraging me to implement a timeline along the bottom of the page which will allow users to select a particular decade to view.

I then Read into web art. This firstly led me to Claudia Sandoval who wrote a journal entitled “For a critical perspective of the value of web art”. This explores web art and the critical approaches that we can take towards it along with the importance of the use of technology in it.

“The very simplicity of this idea already poses the danger of cooperating with this mindset, which refuses to transfer the differences and marginalisation of the real world into the global one. This would be one good reason for insisting upon the physical place of origin as a starting point for creating potent relationships with other artworks for the internet.” (Sandoval, 2010)

Here she talks about the importance of having a physical origin for your project as this allows you to create relationships with the artwork and the internet. This is relatable to my project as I have a club and fan base that are very much based in a physical place, the City of Bristol, this also gives me a platform to find fans and visitors to my site.

“Thus an author should see technologies as tools to be used for communication purposes and not as the final purpose of his or her labour.” (Sandoval, 2010)

This is from a previous blog post where I spoke of the importance of using technology as a tool and not as a art form, this encouraged me to create the interactive map that is completely blank.

I have also read into interactivity. Coyle and Thorson have been a starting point for me in this area.

“Web sites are based on information and communication technologies that enable easy and rapid interaction between consumers and advertisers.” (Coyle and Thorson 2001)

This was what I needed to direct my website in the complete opposite direction and make it web art and not a web site. Organising my content in a way where visitors have to explore the site to find it as it won’t be readily accessible.I will plan to read further into interactivity throughout the course of this project to gain a greater understanding of what is needed to make my site interactive, explorative and different from a traditional website. Maybe this will involve the ways in which my images are displayed as I will be doing this at the latter stages of the project.

Websites
http://www.thejohnnycashproject.com
http://journey.lifeofpimovie.com/#!/richard-parker
https://instagate.wordpress.com
http://jamesturrell.com

Bibliography
Surowiecki, J. (2004) The Wisdom of Crowds. 1st ed. New York City: Doubleday.

Kapetanios, E. (2008) Quo Vadis Computer Science: from Turing to personal computer, personal content and collective intelligence, Data & Knowledge

Engineering, 67 (2), 286–92.
Sandoval, C. (2010) For a critical perspective of the value of web art. Journal of Gaming and Virtual Worlds. 1 (1), p. 24.

Coyle, J.R. and Thorson, E. (2001) The effects of progressive levels of interactivity and vividness in web marketing sites. Journal of Advertising. 3 (30)

Leave a Reply

